Gov’t Unveils New COVID-19 Isolation Centre As Death Toll Hits 1900

Gov’t Unveils New COVID-19 Isolation Centre As Death Toll Hits 1900

By Ivan Mwine

The government of Uganda has through the Ministry of Health constructed a new COVID-19 isolation centre in Entebbe Municipality, so as to reduce the burden on the already existing centres.

We have learnt that the 80-bed isolation centre , which has since been inspected by the Ministry of Health Permanent Secretary, Dr. Diana Atwine , to assess its readiness is aimed at backing up the isolation centres at Entebbe Grade B Hospital, the Uganda Virus Institute and other centres which are already overwhelmed.

“The Permanent Secretary  @ DianaAtwine  and Director General Health Services  @henrymwebesa together with technical teams have inspected the readiness of the 80 bed National Isolation Center in Entebbe. The facility will support the ongoing COVID-19 second wave,” the Ministry tweeted shortly after inspection of the isolation centre.

This however comes at a time when the number of COVID-19 deaths has since skyrocketed to 1,910, out of 8,852 total cumulative cases and 54,845 recoveries.

The newly constructed COVID-19 Isolation Centre in Entebbe

According to officials in the Ministry of Health  COVID-19 has spread to all districts in Uganda ever  since it broke out in the country in March last year.

Results of COVID-19 tests done on 01 July 2021 confirm 770 new cases. A breakdown of the cumulative confirmed new infections is as follows;

Kazo (10) Kanungu (9) Mitooma (9) Bududa (9) Kabarole (8) Rubirizi (8) Kayunga (8) Amuru (9) Kiryandongo (7) Moroto (6) Kasese (5) Gulu (5) Sheema (4) Nakasongola (4) Manafwa (5) Mayuge (4) Soroti (4) Mbale (5) Bunyangabu (4) Packwach (3) Busia (3) Pallisa (3) Arua (3) Luwero (3)

Statistics from the Ministry of Health showing number of COVID-19 infections, deaths and recoveries

Bulambuli (5) Amudat (2) Adjumani (3) Kyegegwa (2) Kamuli (2) Namayingo (2) Kyenjojo (1) Nakapiriporit (1) Masindi (1) Kumi (1) Rubanda (1) Butaleja (1) Kaliro (1) Buhweju (1) Mubende (1) Mityana (1) Bukedea (1) Kibuku (1) Namayingo (1)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.