LIST: 21 Heads Of State Expected In Uganda For Museveni’s Swearing-in

LIST: 21 Heads Of State Expected In Uganda For Museveni’s Swearing-in

By Norman Isaac Mwambazi

Next week on Wednesday, May 12, 2021, President Yoweri Kaguta Tibuhaburwa Museveni will be sworn in as the President of Uganda for the next five years. This will be his sixth term in office after capturing power in 1986 through a bush war.

For this coming term, Museveni was declared winner of the January 14 presidential election by the Electoral Commission (EC) with 58% of the vote compared to his close rival, National Unity Platform’s (NUP) Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu alias Bobi Wine. Bobi Wine claimed that the election was rigged and his victory robbed.

As it has been with recent past presidentil swearing ceremonies, a host of African heads of state are expected to attend Museveni’s swearing in ceremony at Kololo ceremonial grounds, and we have learnt that the number currently stands at 21. Some of these include:

  • Uhuru Kenyatta (Kenya)
  • Samia Suluhu Hassan (Tanzania)
  • Cyril Ramaphosa (South Africa)
  • Salva Kiir (South Sudan)
  • Paul Kagame (Rwanda)
  • Felix Tshisekedi (DRC)
  • Teodoro Obiang Nguema (Equatorial Guinea)
  • Emmerson Mnangagwa (Zimbabwe)
  • and Edgar Lungu(Zambia).

According to Minister for Presidency Esther Mbayo, all invited guests will be required to undergo COVID-19 tests before attending the function. All procedures for undertaking the tests will be communicated by the invitation committee which has been put in place.

 679 total views,  2 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *