Most Dramatic World Cup Finals Of All Time

Most Dramatic World Cup Finals Of All Time

By Ivan Mwine

The FIFA World Cup tournament is set to be held as planned despite the COVID-19 challenges.

There are just a few months left before the kick off of 2022 FIFA World Cup, which will be played in Qatar starting November 21st, 2022. However, the most important date to note is December 18th, 2022, the day when the FIFA World Cup 2022 finals will be played. But as we wait for this year’s tournament to kick off, we would like to take you through the most dramatic World Cup finals of all time.

Brazil 1- 2 Uruguay

Played in 1950, this was Uruguay’s second time to win the World Up, which came 20 years after the very first World Cup tournament in 1930. Following Brazil’s loss to Uruguay, several fans were so disappointed that two of them threw themselves from the stands while three others died as a result of heart attacks. Uruguay’s victory was brought home by Juan Schiaffino and Alcides Ghiggia, while Brazil’s only goal was scored by Friaca.

France is the reigning FIFA World Cup Champions

West Germany 3-2 Hungary

This was a very tantalizing final played in Berne, Switzerland, on July 4th, 1954 and it was so dramatic because Hungary scored first, not expecting Germany to score three goals one after another to win the match. Ferenc Puskas, Zoltan Czibor, Nandor Hidegkuti and Sandor Kocsis were Hungary’s pillars in the match while  Fritz Walter and Helmut Rahn helped Germany register victory.


England 4-2 West Germany

This one was a very dramatic World Cup final match that was played on July 30th 1966,  at Wembley Stadium, in the presence of Queen Elizabeth II, who was England’s chief supporter. Although the game had ended 2-2 at full time,  England’s Geoff Hurst turned the tables when he scored two goals in extra time, with one of them being so controversial after the ball hit the cross bar and  landed on the goal line.

It is the only World Cup that England has ever won  since the tournament started in July 1930. If you think this time round history will repeat itself or change, and you are thinking about betting, the top betting sites in Uganda are available online. You can choose the best bookie that fits you the most. BettingTop10 Uganda is one of the most popular sites that provide all the information you need to choose bookie, like honest reviews, betting tips etc.

Brazil 4-1 Italy

Played in Mexico on June 21st, 1970,  the final allowed Brazil to become a three time World Cup winner, although they later won the tournament for the fourth time. Brazil registered great victory thanks to legends like Pele, O Rei, Jairzinho and Gerson and Alberto Carlos.

Argentina 3-1 Netherlands

Played in 1978, at the Estadio Monumental, in Buenos Aires, this was a very controversial World Cup final especially because its kickoff was delayed by over 10 minutes because of a huge argument that broke out between the two competing teams and FIFA officials.

Argentina 3-2 West Germany

This World Cup final which was played in Mexico at Azteca Stadium, on June 29th, 1986 made fallen football legend Diego Maradona an international brand and a household name. Watched by 115,000 spectators, Germany almost won the game after Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Rudi Voller equalized by scoring two goals against Argentina within a space of a few minutes. However, Maradona turned the  game around after he assisted Jorge Burruchaga to score a goal within six minutes to the end of the game, thereby granting Argentina the victory.

Brazil 0-3 France

France, who were the hosts of the World Cup, thrashed Brazil during the final that was held at Stade de France  on July 12th, 1998. Despite the fact that France played with one man less following a red car for Laurent Blanc, they managed to beat Brazil, thanks to the efforts of Zinedine Zidane and Emmanuel Petit, who clinched victory for the French team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.